MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
J.D. Martinez
.282 38 102
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 221 NFBC ADP: 113.68
Position: RFBorn: 8/21/1987 Birthplace: Miami, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 20th Round by Astros (2009)

Latest News
Sep. 17 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Martinez kept the good times rolling on Wednesday.
Analysis: Martinez hit a two-run jack and has 37 dingers with 96 RBIs in a fantasy season that has come out of left field - though he often plays in right.
Sep. 15 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 on Monday.
Analysis: Martinez is 8 for 17 on the road trip so give him credit for not folding up like the rest of the Tigers.
Sep. 6 11:06 AM PT12:06 PM MT1:06 PM CT2:06 PM ET14:06 ET18:06 GMT2:06 11:06 AM MST1:06 PM EST1:36 PM VEN22:06 UAE1:06 PM CT-Martinez drilled his 35th dinger Saturday.
Analysis: Martinez has a .905 OPS as he has been outstanding for owners.
Aug. 27 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE11:01 AM CT-Martinez slugged his 34th home run of the season Wednesday, a two-run shot in a win over the Angels.
Analysis: Martinez is tied for third in the AL with 34 homers and 87 RBIs. He's amassed four homers and 11 RBIs over his last nine games and hit .375 in his past 10.
Aug. 26 11:12 AM PT12:12 PM MT1:12 PM CT2:12 PM ET14:12 ET18:12 GMT2:12 11:12 AM MST1:12 PM EST1:42 PM VEN22:12 UAE1:12 PM CT-Martinez remained a fantasy monster Tuesday, going 2 for 4 with his 23rd double against the Angels.
Analysis: Martinez's .556 slugging percentage ranks sixth.
Aug. 25 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Martinez went deep for the 33rd time this year and added a double Monday at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Martinez has quietly been one of the best players in baseball this season, posting a .904 OPS that ranks 10th in the majors.
Aug. 20 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Martinez hit his 32nd home run Wednesday against the Cubs, going deep for a second straight day.
Analysis: Martinez is already up to 81 RBIs, five more than he finished with in six more games last season.
July 11 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Martinez homered in Friday's loss in Minnesota, pushing him to 25 for the season.
Analysis: Martinez had already surpassed his previous single-season high of 23 from last season, and he has 12 in his last 17 games.
July 3 8:50 AM PT9:50 AM MT10:50 AM CT11:50 AM ET11:50 ET15:50 GMT23:50 8:50 AM MST10:50 AM EST11:20 AM VEN19:50 UAE10:50 AM CT-Martinez drilled a three-run blast on Thursday.
Analysis: Martinez is up to 21 jacks and 51 RBIs for the Tigers.
July 2 11:45 AM PT12:45 PM MT1:45 PM CT2:45 PM ET14:45 ET18:45 GMT2:45 11:45 AM MST1:45 PM EST2:15 PM VEN22:45 UAE1:45 PM CT-Martinez had three hits in a 9-3 loss to Pittsburgh on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Martinez is batting .365 (23 for 63) with 10 homers and 21 RBIs in his last 15 games.
July 1 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Martinez went 3 for 6 with a two-run homer in Detroit's 5-4 loss in 14 innings to Pittsburgh on Tuesday.
Analysis: Martinez has seven homers in seven games and hit 11 of his 20 in his final 18 contests in June. That surge has him tied for second in the AL and four behind Albert Pujols.
June 27 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 with his 19th homer and six in five games Friday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez is 21 for 61 (.344) with 10 home runs and 23 RBIs in his last 16 games. His 1.253 OPS in that span leads baseball, with teammate Miguel Cabrera (1.252) right behind him.
June 26 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Martinez hit his fifth home run in four games Thursday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Martinez has driven in 22 RBIs in his last 15 games, going 10 for 16 with runners in scoring position in that span.
June 25 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Martinez hit his 17th homer of the season and fourth in three games Wednesday at Cleveland.
Analysis: Martinez is 18 for 52 (.346) with eight home runs and 20 RBIs in his last 14 contests.
June 21 12:44 PM PT1:44 PM MT2:44 PM CT3:44 PM ET15:44 ET19:44 GMT3:44 12:44 PM MST2:44 PM EST3:14 PM VEN23:44 UAE2:44 PM CT-Martinez homered three times and drove in six runs through six innings against the New York Yankees on Sunday.
Analysis: This was the first multihomer game of Martinez's career, and it was the first three-homer game for Detroit since Miguel Cabrera did it at Texas on May 19, 2013. He became the first Tigers player to connect three times against the Yankees since Charlie Maxwell in 1959.
June 21 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE1:50 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Martinez has a .824 OPS in his last 16 games.
June 17 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Martinez extended his hit streak to 10 games in a 5-2 loss to Cincinnati on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Martinez, batting .270, is 14 for 42 (.333) with four homers and 12 RBIs during his streak.
June 16 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET20:43 ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST7:43 PM EST8:13 PM VEN4:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 and homered for the third straight game Monday against Cincinnati.
Analysis: Martinez is 11 for 29 with 12 RBIs in his last eight games.
June 15 11:39 AM PT12:39 PM MT1:39 PM CT2:39 PM ET14:39 ET18:39 GMT2:39 11:39 AM MST1:39 PM EST2:09 PM VEN22:39 UAE1:39 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 with a three-run jack on Sunday.
Analysis: Martinez has gone deep in consecutive games and owns a .805 OPS.
June 14 10:00 AM PT11:00 AM MT12:00 PM CT1:00 PM ET13:00 ET17:00 GMT1:00 10:00 AM MST12:00 PM EST12:30 PM VEN21:00 UAE12:00 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 with a dinger and two RBIs on Saturday.
Analysis: Martinez went yard for the 11th time and has 29 RBIs.
June 8 2:45 PM PT3:45 PM MT4:45 PM CT5:45 PM ET17:45 ET21:45 GMT5:45 2:45 PM MST4:45 PM EST5:15 PM VEN1:45 UAE (+1)4:45 PM CT-Martinez rocked the fantasy world Sunday.
Analysis: Martinez was 2 for 4 with a two-run jack and three RBIs. He has hit safely in four straight.
May 31 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Martinez had three hits, including two doubles Saturday against the Angels.
Analysis: Martinez is hitting .343 over his last 18 games.
May 25 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Martinez was 2 for 4 and doubled Sunday versus Houston.
Analysis: Martinez is 21 for 55 over his last 15 games, raising his batting average from .216 to .271.
May 14 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Martinez returned with two hits Thursday for Detroit.
Analysis: Martinez left Wednesday's game versus Minnesota in the sixth inning after singling in his first two at-bats.
Apr. 10 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Martinez went 2 for 4 with a homer and three RBIs against Minnesota on Thursday.
Analysis: Martinez is off to a great start with two homers and four RBIs in his first three games.
Apr. 6 10:45 AM PT11:45 AM MT12:45 PM CT1:45 PM ET13:45 ET17:45 GMT1:45 10:45 AM MST12:45 PM EST1:15 PM VEN21:45 UAE12:45 PM CT-Martinez hit the first home run of the 2015 baseball season.
Analysis: This season began Sunday night when St. Louis beat the Chicago Cubs 3-0, but nobody homered in that game. Martinez hit .315 with 23 homers and 76 RBIs for the Tigers in 2014. On opening day last year, Martinez was not even in the majors.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
2011 Hou 53 208 29 57 13 0 6 35 13 48 0 1 .274 .319 .423
2012 Hou 113 395 34 95 14 3 11 55 40 96 0 2 .241 .311 .375
2013 Hou 86 296 24 74 17 0 7 36 10 82 2 0 .250 .272 .378
2014 Det 123 441 57 139 30 3 23 76 30 126 6 3 .315 .358 .553
2015 Det 158 596 93 168 33 2 38 102 53 178 3 2 .282 .344 .535
Career 533 1936 237 533 107 8 85 304 146 530 11 8 .275 .327 .471


Hitting Statistics
2014 Det Total 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
    LDS 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833
Career 3 12 2 3 1 0 2 5 0 4 0 0 .250 .250 .833

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.