MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Matt Carpenter
AVG HR RBI
.298 14 53
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-3 / 206 NFBC ADP: 71.34
Position: 3BBorn: 11/26/1985 Birthplace: Galveston, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 13th Round by Cardinals (2009)


Latest News
July 24 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Carpenter, who has been on the disabled list since July 7 with a right oblique strain, has been cleared to take controlled swings again. He resumed running, throwing and fielding earlier this week.
Analysis: Carpenter is hitting .298 with 14 homers and 53 RBIs in 78 games this season.
July 7 10:01 AM PT11:01 AM MT12:01 PM CT1:01 PM ET13:01 ET17:01 GMT1:01 10:01 AM MST12:01 PM EST12:31 PM VEN21:01 UAE12:01 PM CT-Carpenter is expected to begin a minor league rehab assignment this week.
Analysis: Carpenter, sidelined since July 6 with a strained right oblique, took swings in the outdoor batting cage and ran the bases Sunday.
July 6 6:25 PM PT7:25 PM MT8:25 PM CT9:25 PM ET21:25 ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST8:25 PM EST8:55 PM VEN5:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Carpenter left the 7-5 defeat to the Pittsburgh Pirates in the third inning after swinging awkwardly at a pitch from Jeff Locke on Wednesday. He has a right oblique injury and his status is uncertain.
Analysis: Cardinals manager Mike Matheny said of Carpenter, who was recently named to his third All-Star Game, was in an MRI tube as he spoke to reporters after the game. "I have a high level of concern because I've felt that injury and I've seen it,'' Matheny said. "It can be tough, but I'm not going to make any conclusions until we hear from the people that know what they're talking about."
July 5 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Carpenter was selected a reserve to the NL All-Star team.
Analysis: Among NL third baseman, Carpenter ranks first in weighted OBA (.423) and OPS (1.008), and is fourth in WAR (2.9).
July 4 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Carpenter had three hits in Monday's loss to the Pirates.
Analysis: He is 6 for 12 with four RBIs in three games this month.
July 1 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Carpenter stayed hot with two hits and an RBI in Friday's win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: After putting together a scintillating June, Carpenter got July off to an excellent start. He's hitting .402 with five homers, 17 RBIs and 26 runs scored over his last 26 games.
June 29 7:57 AM PT8:57 AM MT9:57 AM CT10:57 AM ET10:57 ET14:57 GMT22:57 7:57 AM MST9:57 AM EST10:27 AM VEN18:57 UAE9:57 AM CT-Carpenter homered, doubled and drove in two in the Cardinals' 8-4 win over the Royals on Tuesday.
Analysis: That's three homers and five extra-base hits in the last three days for Carpenter, whose OPS is up to an astounding 1.012.
June 27 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Carpenter keyed Sunday's 11-6 win at Seattle with a pair of solo homers and a triple.
Analysis: Carpenter continues to rake over the past month, as he's hitting a torrid .430 with four homers, 14 RBIs and 23 runs scored over his last 21 games. Of his 34 hits over that span, 18 have gone for extra bases.
June 23 7:53 AM PT8:53 AM MT9:53 AM CT10:53 AM ET10:53 ET14:53 GMT22:53 7:53 AM MST9:53 AM EST10:23 AM VEN18:53 UAE9:53 AM CT-Carpenter drove in two runs and scored twice Wednesday.
Analysis: Carpenter is batting .439 with 12 RBIs and 19 runs scored in his last 18 games.
June 20 10:03 AM PT11:03 AM MT12:03 PM CT1:03 PM ET13:03 ET17:03 GMT1:03 10:03 AM MST12:03 PM EST12:33 PM VEN21:03 UAE12:03 PM CT-Carpenter reached base four more times Sunday with two singles and two walks in a loss to the Rangers.
Analysis: The leadoff man has hit safely in 12 straight games while batting .463, and he has an eye-popping .588 on-base percentage over his last 15. He's 7 for 11 with six walks in the Cardinals' past four games.
June 18 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Carpenter doubled and walked twice in Saturday's 4-3 loss to Texas.
Analysis: Carpenter has an 11-game hitting streak and is batting .481 with nine doubles and a .571 OBP in his last 14 contests. He is hitting .435 with three home runs and six RBIs in seven interleague games this season.
June 17 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Carpenter had two of St. Louis' three hits in Friday's 1-0 loss to Texas.
Analysis: He is 24 for 50 over a 13-game stretch.
June 12 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Carpenter sat out a second straight game Sunday with an injured finger.
Analysis: Carpenter, who sustained the injury in Thursday's game at Pittsburgh, is expected to be in the lineup when the Cardinals open a series with Houston on Tuesday.
June 11 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs in Friday's 9-3, 12-inning win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Carpenter has been red hot, batting .475 with eight doubles and nine RBIs over his last 10 games. Hopefully, he's been in your lineup.
June 1 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Carpenter had four hits for the second straight game, scored four times and drove in two runs in a 10-3 win in Milwaukee on Tuesday night.
Analysis: In the Cardinals' 6-0 victory over the Brewers on Monday, Carpenter had four hits and three runs. He has raised his average from .241 to .272 with his last eight hits, including five for extra bases. He had a pair of triples and a double on Tuesday.
May 31 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Carpenter recorded a season-high four hits and scored three times in Monday's win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: The Cardinals' leadoff hitter has been streaky this season, but he's posted a .297 average over his last nine games.
May 26 12:05 PM PT1:05 PM MT2:05 PM CT3:05 PM ET15:05 ET19:05 GMT3:05 12:05 PM MST2:05 PM EST2:35 PM VEN23:05 UAE2:05 PM CT-Carpenter has been activated from the paternity list.
Analysis: He's back in his customary leadoff spot for Saturday's game at Washington. Carpenter missed two games to be with wife for the birth of the couple's first child.
May 20 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Carpenter had a career-best six RBIs in a 13-7 win over Colorado on Thursday.
Analysis: Carpenter hit a three-run homer and a pair of doubles after going 1 for 14 with one RBI in his previous five games.
May 16 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Carpenter hit his fifth home run in eight games in a 5-2 win over the Los Angeles Dodgers on Sunday night.
Analysis: Carpenter is also batting .333 with three doubles and nine RBIs in his last 10 games.
May 13 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Carpenter supported his owners Thursday.
Analysis: Carpenter drilled a three-run dinger for the Redbirds.
May 11 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Carpenter homered twice, including a leadoff shot on the fifth pitch of the game, in an 8-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels on Tuesday.
Analysis: Carpenter, batting .264 with six homers, is 9 for 21 (.429) with three longballs and three doubles in his last five games.
May 9 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 3 with two runs scored Sunday against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Carpenter's bat is starting to come around after a very slow start, as he's 7 for 17 with four extra-base hits and four runs scored over his last four games.
May 2 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 on Sunday.
Analysis: Carpenter faces a Phillies team that is on a roll next. He's a .289 hitter versus Philly.
Apr. 15 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with two doubles and two RBIs on Thursday.
Analysis: He has eight RBIs in his last five games.
Apr. 12 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a triple and two RBIs on Monday.
Analysis: He is 6 for 16 with a double, triple, home run and six RBIs during his four-game hitting streak.
Apr. 11 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Carpenter hit a three-run home run on Sunday.
Analysis: It was his first homer of the season as he extended his hitting streak to three games.

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.