MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#13
Matt Carpenter
AVG HR RBI
.271 21 68
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-3 / 206 NFBC ADP: 71.34
Position: 3BBorn: 11/26/1985 Birthplace: Galveston, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 13th Round by Cardinals (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 27 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Carpenter (right ring finger) was out of the lineup Monday, but returned Tuesday.
Analysis: It appears to be safe to get him in your lineup.
Sep. 21 3:01 PM PT4:01 PM MT5:01 PM CT6:01 PM ET18:01 ET22:01 GMT6:01 3:01 PM MST5:01 PM EST5:31 PM VEN2:01 UAE (+1)5:01 PM CT-Carpenter singled Wednesday to give him a hit in each of his last five games.
Analysis: He's 7 for 20 over that stretch after going 0 for 13 in his previous four contests.
Sep. 17 8:45 AM PT9:45 AM MT10:45 AM CT11:45 AM ET11:45 ET15:45 GMT23:45 8:45 AM MST10:45 AM EST11:15 AM VEN19:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Carpenter had two hits and scored one of the Cardinals' two runs in Friday's loss at San Francisco.
Analysis: The leadoff man had gone 0 for 13 in his previous four games. He's batting .195 in 20 road games since the All-Star break.
Sep. 14 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Carpenter was hitless in four at-bats in Wednesday's loss to the Cubs.
Analysis: Carpenter was 0 for 10 in the series with the Cubs, dropping his average to .274 - the lowest it's been since it was at .272 on June 4.
Sep. 12 9:26 AM PT10:26 AM MT11:26 AM CT12:26 PM ET12:26 ET16:26 GMT0:26 9:26 AM MST11:26 AM EST11:56 AM VEN20:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-Carpenter seems to be getting back on track after hitting two doubles in Sunday's 2-1 loss to the Brewers.
Analysis: Carpenter had been hitting just .212 over a 31-game stretch before going 5 for 13 with a home run and three doubles over his last four.
Sep. 10 8:18 AM PT9:18 AM MT10:18 AM CT11:18 AM ET11:18 ET15:18 GMT23:18 8:18 AM MST10:18 AM EST10:48 AM VEN19:18 UAE10:18 AM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a two-run homer, his 19th of the year, in Friday's 4-3 win over the Brewers.
Analysis: Carpenter has scored in five straight games and has four extra-base hits in that span. His .917 OPS for the season would be a career high. He's batting .385 versus Milwaukee this year.
Aug. 29 9:44 AM PT10:44 AM MT11:44 AM CT12:44 PM ET12:44 ET16:44 GMT0:44 9:44 AM MST11:44 AM EST12:14 PM VEN20:44 UAE11:44 AM CT-Carpenter hit a solo homer, doubled twice and scored three runs Sunday.
Analysis: He's 7 for 23 with two solo homers, two doubles and six runs scored in his last six games.
Aug. 25 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Carpenter homered in Wednesday's 8-1 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Carpenter was back in the leadoff spot after several games hitting third. His 16th homer was his third leadoff homer of the season.
Aug. 14 10:44 AM PT11:44 AM MT12:44 PM CT1:44 PM ET13:44 ET17:44 GMT1:44 10:44 AM MST12:44 PM EST1:14 PM VEN21:44 UAE12:44 PM CT-Carpenter had a pair of hits and scored a run and the Cardinals stopped the Cubs' 11-game winning streak, beating Chicago 8-4 Saturday.
Analysis: Carpenter is 0 for 8 with five strikeouts and three walks lifetime against John Lackey, the Cubs' scheduled starter for Sunday.
Aug. 10 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Carpenter homered and went 2 for 3 with a walk as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Cincinnati Reds 3-2 on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Carpenter is 5 for 12 with three extra-base hits in his last three games.
Aug. 9 9:52 AM PT10:52 AM MT11:52 AM CT12:52 PM ET12:52 ET16:52 GMT0:52 9:52 AM MST11:52 AM EST12:22 PM VEN20:52 UAE11:52 AM CT-Carpenter came through with two hits, including a two-run single that helped spark a five-run ninth inning in the Cardinals' stunning comeback win over Cincinnati.
Analysis: The All-Star infielder may be back on track after going 0 for 6 in his first two games off the DL. Carpenter had missed a month with an oblique injury before returning Friday.
Aug. 8 9:25 AM PT10:25 AM MT11:25 AM CT12:25 PM ET12:25 ET16:25 GMT0:25 9:25 AM MST11:25 AM EST11:55 AM VEN20:25 UAE11:25 AM CT-Carpenter was not in the lineup Sunday, one day after getting removed with apparent side muscle difficulties.
Analysis: He was activated off the DL on Friday after missing 24 games with a strained right oblique.
July 7 10:01 AM PT11:01 AM MT12:01 PM CT1:01 PM ET13:01 ET17:01 GMT1:01 10:01 AM MST12:01 PM EST12:31 PM VEN21:01 UAE12:01 PM CT-Carpenter (oblique) come off the DL on Friday.
Analysis: Carpenter, sidelined since July 6, is hitting .298 with 14 homers and 53 RBIs in 78 games this season. He went 4 for 12 during a rehab assignment with a homer and a double.
July 6 6:25 PM PT7:25 PM MT8:25 PM CT9:25 PM ET21:25 ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST8:25 PM EST8:55 PM VEN5:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Carpenter left the 7-5 defeat to the Pittsburgh Pirates in the third inning after swinging awkwardly at a pitch from Jeff Locke on Wednesday. He has a right oblique injury and his status is uncertain.
Analysis: Cardinals manager Mike Matheny said of Carpenter, who was recently named to his third All-Star Game, was in an MRI tube as he spoke to reporters after the game. "I have a high level of concern because I've felt that injury and I've seen it,'' Matheny said. "It can be tough, but I'm not going to make any conclusions until we hear from the people that know what they're talking about."
July 5 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Carpenter was selected a reserve to the NL All-Star team.
Analysis: Among NL third baseman, Carpenter ranks first in weighted OBA (.423) and OPS (1.008), and is fourth in WAR (2.9).
July 4 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Carpenter had three hits in Monday's loss to the Pirates.
Analysis: He is 6 for 12 with four RBIs in three games this month.
July 1 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Carpenter stayed hot with two hits and an RBI in Friday's win over Milwaukee.
Analysis: After putting together a scintillating June, Carpenter got July off to an excellent start. He's hitting .402 with five homers, 17 RBIs and 26 runs scored over his last 26 games.
June 29 7:57 AM PT8:57 AM MT9:57 AM CT10:57 AM ET10:57 ET14:57 GMT22:57 7:57 AM MST9:57 AM EST10:27 AM VEN18:57 UAE9:57 AM CT-Carpenter homered, doubled and drove in two in the Cardinals' 8-4 win over the Royals on Tuesday.
Analysis: That's three homers and five extra-base hits in the last three days for Carpenter, whose OPS is up to an astounding 1.012.
June 27 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Carpenter keyed Sunday's 11-6 win at Seattle with a pair of solo homers and a triple.
Analysis: Carpenter continues to rake over the past month, as he's hitting a torrid .430 with four homers, 14 RBIs and 23 runs scored over his last 21 games. Of his 34 hits over that span, 18 have gone for extra bases.
June 23 7:53 AM PT8:53 AM MT9:53 AM CT10:53 AM ET10:53 ET14:53 GMT22:53 7:53 AM MST9:53 AM EST10:23 AM VEN18:53 UAE9:53 AM CT-Carpenter drove in two runs and scored twice Wednesday.
Analysis: Carpenter is batting .439 with 12 RBIs and 19 runs scored in his last 18 games.
June 20 10:03 AM PT11:03 AM MT12:03 PM CT1:03 PM ET13:03 ET17:03 GMT1:03 10:03 AM MST12:03 PM EST12:33 PM VEN21:03 UAE12:03 PM CT-Carpenter reached base four more times Sunday with two singles and two walks in a loss to the Rangers.
Analysis: The leadoff man has hit safely in 12 straight games while batting .463, and he has an eye-popping .588 on-base percentage over his last 15. He's 7 for 11 with six walks in the Cardinals' past four games.
June 18 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Carpenter doubled and walked twice in Saturday's 4-3 loss to Texas.
Analysis: Carpenter has an 11-game hitting streak and is batting .481 with nine doubles and a .571 OBP in his last 14 contests. He is hitting .435 with three home runs and six RBIs in seven interleague games this season.
June 17 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Carpenter had two of St. Louis' three hits in Friday's 1-0 loss to Texas.
Analysis: He is 24 for 50 over a 13-game stretch.
June 12 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Carpenter sat out a second straight game Sunday with an injured finger.
Analysis: Carpenter, who sustained the injury in Thursday's game at Pittsburgh, is expected to be in the lineup when the Cardinals open a series with Houston on Tuesday.
June 11 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE11:23 AM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs in Friday's 9-3, 12-inning win at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Carpenter has been red hot, batting .475 with eight doubles and nine RBIs over his last 10 games. Hopefully, he's been in your lineup.
June 1 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Carpenter had four hits for the second straight game, scored four times and drove in two runs in a 10-3 win in Milwaukee on Tuesday night.
Analysis: In the Cardinals' 6-0 victory over the Brewers on Monday, Carpenter had four hits and three runs. He has raised his average from .241 to .272 with his last eight hits, including five for extra bases. He had a pair of triples and a double on Tuesday.
May 31 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Carpenter recorded a season-high four hits and scored three times in Monday's win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: The Cardinals' leadoff hitter has been streaky this season, but he's posted a .297 average over his last nine games.
May 26 12:05 PM PT1:05 PM MT2:05 PM CT3:05 PM ET15:05 ET19:05 GMT3:05 12:05 PM MST2:05 PM EST2:35 PM VEN23:05 UAE2:05 PM CT-Carpenter has been activated from the paternity list.
Analysis: He's back in his customary leadoff spot for Saturday's game at Washington. Carpenter missed two games to be with wife for the birth of the couple's first child.
May 20 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Carpenter had a career-best six RBIs in a 13-7 win over Colorado on Thursday.
Analysis: Carpenter hit a three-run homer and a pair of doubles after going 1 for 14 with one RBI in his previous five games.
May 16 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Carpenter hit his fifth home run in eight games in a 5-2 win over the Los Angeles Dodgers on Sunday night.
Analysis: Carpenter is also batting .333 with three doubles and nine RBIs in his last 10 games.
May 13 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Carpenter supported his owners Thursday.
Analysis: Carpenter drilled a three-run dinger for the Redbirds.
May 11 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Carpenter homered twice, including a leadoff shot on the fifth pitch of the game, in an 8-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels on Tuesday.
Analysis: Carpenter, batting .264 with six homers, is 9 for 21 (.429) with three longballs and three doubles in his last five games.
May 9 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 3 with two runs scored Sunday against Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Carpenter's bat is starting to come around after a very slow start, as he's 7 for 17 with four extra-base hits and four runs scored over his last four games.
May 2 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 on Sunday.
Analysis: Carpenter faces a Phillies team that is on a roll next. He's a .289 hitter versus Philly.
Apr. 15 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with two doubles and two RBIs on Thursday.
Analysis: He has eight RBIs in his last five games.
Apr. 12 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Carpenter went 2 for 4 with a triple and two RBIs on Monday.
Analysis: He is 6 for 16 with a double, triple, home run and six RBIs during his four-game hitting streak.
Apr. 11 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Carpenter hit a three-run home run on Sunday.
Analysis: It was his first homer of the season as he extended his hitting streak to three games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 StL 7 15 0 1 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .067 .263 .133
2012 StL 114 296 44 87 22 5 6 46 34 63 1 1 .294 .365 .463
2013 StL 157 626 126 199 55 7 11 78 72 98 3 3 .318 .392 .481
2014 StL 158 595 99 162 33 2 8 59 95 111 5 3 .272 .375 .375
2015 StL 154 574 101 156 44 3 28 84 81 151 4 3 .272 .365 .505
2016 StL 129 473 81 128 36 6 21 68 81 108 0 4 .271 .380 .505
Career 719 2579 451 733 191 23 74 335 367 535 13 14 .284 .376 .462

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 StL Total 9 14 3 4 1 0 1 3 3 5 0 0 .286 .412 .571
    WC 1 1 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
    LDS 5 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 3 9 3 3 1 0 1 2 3 2 0 0 .333 .500 .778
2013 StL Total 17 69 8 15 3 1 0 4 4 17 1 0 .217 .263 .290
    LDS 5 19 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 6 0 0 .053 .143 .053
    LCS 6 23 4 6 2 1 0 2 3 5 1 0 .261 .333 .435
    WS 6 27 3 8 1 0 0 2 0 6 0 0 .296 .286 .333
2014 StL Total 9 36 6 10 4 0 4 8 3 12 0 0 .278 .333 .722
    LDS 4 16 4 6 3 0 3 7 1 4 0 0 .375 .412 1.125
    LCS 5 20 2 4 1 0 1 1 2 8 0 0 .200 .273 .400
2015 StL Total 4 17 3 4 0 0 1 1 1 5 0 0 .235 .278 .412
    LDS 4 17 3 4 0 0 1 1 1 5 0 0 .235 .278 .412
Career 39 136 20 33 8 1 6 16 11 39 1 0 .243 .300 .449


w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.