MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#29
Francisco Cervelli
AVG HR RBI
.264 1 33
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-1 / 205 NFBC ADP: 239.38
Position: CBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Valencia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2003)


Latest News
Sep. 21 9:35 AM PT10:35 AM MT11:35 AM CT12:35 PM ET12:35 ET16:35 GMT0:35 9:35 AM MST11:35 AM EST12:05 PM VEN20:35 UAE11:35 AM CT-Cervelli stayed hot Tuesday by going 2 for 4 with two runs scored in a 6-3 win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Cervelli has gone 5 for 11 with two doubles over his last three games.
Sep. 6 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Cervelli was back in the Pirates' lineup Wednesday and went 1 for 4 with a run scored in a 4-3 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: The Pittsburgh catcher was held out of Tuesday's game after he experienced discomfort in his left hand trying to block a pitch on Monday. Cervelli is hitting just .191 with no homers and two RBIs over his last 15 games.
Sep. 5 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Cervelli left after the fourth inning Monday because of left thumb discomfort.
Analysis: It was not immediately clear what caused the injury, and there was no word on the severity of the problem.
Aug. 11 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Cervelli did not play Thursday after leaving Wednesday's game with left wrist discomfort.
Analysis: He called the issue numbness and said it stemmed from tendinitis. Pirates manager Clint Hurdle said he expects Cervelli, batting .263 in 64 games, to play ''sometime soon.''
Aug. 10 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Cervelli left the game in the fifth inning with left wrist discomfort in the Pirates' 4-0 loss to the Padres on Wednesday.
Analysis: Cervelli already missed nearly six weeks with a broken bone in his left hand, so this isn't encouraging. Expect him to at the very least miss Thursday's matinee.
Aug. 4 9:30 PM PT10:30 PM MT11:30 PM CT12:30 AM ET0:30 ET4:30 GMT12:30 9:30 PM MST11:30 PM EST12:00 AM VEN8:30 UAE11:30 PM CT-Cervelli returned to the starting lineup Friday after sitting out Wednesday and pinch-hitting Thursday after being hit in the head by a pitch Tuesday.
Analysis: Cervelli went 1 for 2 with an RBI and is batting .350 in his last eight games.
July 30 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE2:35 PM CT-Cervelli was helped off the field in the eighth inning of Friday's loss to the Brewers after a pitch glanced off Scooter Gennett's leg and hit him directly on the inside of his right foot.
Analysis: It's unclear if this injury will require another trip to the disabled list for Cervelli, who recently returned after missing five weeks with a broken hand. He's batting .258 with no homers and 23 RBIs in 56 games.
June 10 5:39 PM PT6:39 PM MT7:39 PM CT8:39 PM ET20:39 ET0:39 GMT8:39 5:39 PM MST7:39 PM EST8:09 PM VEN4:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-The Pirates activated Cervelli from the 15-day disabled list on Tuesday, the team announced.
Analysis: Cervelli underwent surgery on his left hand five-plus weeks ago. He went 4 for 10 with three walks in a three-game rehab stint at Indianapolis and was batting .257 in 49 games before his injury.
June 2 5:30 PM PT6:30 PM MT7:30 PM CT8:30 PM ET20:30 ET0:30 GMT8:30 5:30 PM MST7:30 PM EST8:00 PM VEN4:30 UAE (+1)7:30 PM CT-Pittsburgh Pirates catcher Francisco Cervelli left Thursday's game against the Miami Marlins in the third inning shortly after being hit in the foot by a pitch.
Analysis: Cervelli was hit in the top of the second inning. He stayed in the game before eventually exiting in the bottom of the third. Cervelli entered the game with a .256 average and 21 RBIs. He was replaced by Chris Stewart.
May 18 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Cervelli had three hits with two RBIs on Tuesday.
Analysis: Cervelli snapped out of a 3-for-21 slump.
May 17 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-The Pirates and Cervelli have agreed on a three-year extension that will keep the catcher under contract through 2019.
Analysis: Cervelli, slated to be a free agent at season's end, will earn $31 million over the deal, according to Yahoo! Sports. The 30-year-old hit .295 and set career highs with seven homers and 43 RBIs in 130 games last season, his first with Pittsburgh after spending parts of seven seasons with the Yankees.
May 1 9:41 AM PT10:41 AM MT11:41 AM CT12:41 PM ET12:41 ET16:41 GMT0:41 9:41 AM MST11:41 AM EST12:11 PM VEN20:41 UAE11:41 AM CT-Cervelli had two hits and drove in a run in a 5-1 win over Cincinnati on Saturday night.
Analysis: Cervelli has two hits in three of his last four games, boosting his average to .321.
Apr. 22 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET21:03 GMT5:03 2:03 PM MST4:03 PM EST4:33 PM VEN1:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Cervelli extended his hitting streak to five games by going 2 for 5 on Thursday.
Analysis: He drove in two runs and scored another while bringing his batting average up to .340.
Apr. 12 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Cervelli finished with three hits in Monday's 7-4 win at Detroit.
Analysis: Cervelli has gotten off to a hot start, going 10 for 22 with five RBIs in the first six games.
Mar. 1 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET23:57 GMT7:57 4:57 PM MST6:57 PM EST7:27 PM VEN3:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Cervelli homered in his first at-bat of the spring Tuesday.
Analysis: Don't expect Cervelli to hit many homers. "It was nothing but luck," he said.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 NYY 3 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 NYY 42 94 13 28 4 0 1 11 2 11 0 3 .298 .309 .372
2010 NYY 93 266 27 72 11 3 0 38 33 42 1 1 .271 .359 .335
2011 NYY 43 124 17 33 4 0 4 22 9 29 4 1 .266 .324 .395
2012 NYY 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2013 NYY 17 52 12 14 3 0 3 8 8 9 0 0 .269 .377 .500
2014 NYY 49 146 18 44 11 1 2 13 11 41 1 0 .301 .370 .432
2015 Pit 130 451 56 133 17 5 7 43 46 94 1 1 .295 .370 .401
2016 Pit 101 326 42 86 14 1 1 33 56 72 6 2 .264 .377 .322
Career 481 1465 186 410 64 10 18 168 166 301 13 8 .280 .361 .374

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 NYY Total 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 NYY Total 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Pit Total 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .500 .333
    WC 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .500 .333
Career 4 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .167 .286 .167


w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.