MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Brett Gardner
AVG HR RBI
.261 7 41
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 5-11 / 195 NFBC ADP: 146.52
Position: LFBorn: 8/24/1983 Birthplace: Holly Hill, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 3rd Round by Yankees (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 28 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Gardner went 2 for 2 with a pair of walks and scored Wednesday.
Analysis: He's hit safely in 11 of his last 12 games while batting .313 and scoring nine times.
Sep. 27 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Gardner singled Tuesday.
Analysis: He's hit safely in 10 of his last 11 games while scoring eight times over that span.
Sep. 26 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Gardner went 3 for 4 with a double, walk and three runs scored Monday.
Analysis: He's hit safely in nine of his last 10 games while scoring eight times over that span.
Sep. 16 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Gardner doubled, walked and was hit by a pitch Friday.
Analysis: He was 0 for 13 with three walks and a hit by pitch in his previous four games.
Sep. 11 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Gardner continued a positive stretch at the plate Sunday by going 3 for 4 with a double and an RBI in a loss to the Rays.
Analysis: Gardner has gone 9 for 16 over his last five games for the surging Yankees.
Sep. 8 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Gardner had a pair of hits in Wednesday's 2-0 win over the Blue Jays.
Analysis: The Yankees begin a series with the Rays on Thursday and Gardner is batting .233 with seven walks in nine meetings this season. He is 2 for 15 against Alex Cobb, the scheduled starter for the opener.
Aug. 26 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Gardner had two hits and drove in three runs Friday.
Analysis: He's 4 for 12 with four RBIs and three runs scored in his last three games.
Aug. 20 9:35 AM PT10:35 AM MT11:35 AM CT12:35 PM ET12:35 ET16:35 GMT0:35 9:35 AM MST11:35 AM EST12:05 PM VEN20:35 UAE11:35 AM CT-Gardner was out of the lineup for the fifth time in six games Friday due to a sore right foot.
Analysis: Gardner played Wednesday after missing four games, but the New York Daily News reported that Yankees manager Joe Girardi didn’t like the way the left fielder was running and decided to give him another day off. Gardner is 3 for 16 in his last four games and has gone 24 straight without stealing a base - his 13 steals rank second on the team.
Aug. 17 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Gardner (ankle) was back in the lineup Wednesday after missing four games.
Analysis: He went 1 for 4 to make him 11 for 33 in his last eight games.
Aug. 16 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Gardner (sore right ankle) missed his fourth straight game Tuesday but could start Wednesday depending on how he feels in pregame baseball activities.
Analysis: He's batting .345 with two doubles, two triples and five runs scored in his last seven games.
Aug. 13 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Gardner sat out Saturday's game against Tampa Bay after being hit by a pitch above his right ankle on Friday.
Analysis: X-rays came up negative, but Gardner will likely be held out for the remainder of the series.
Aug. 10 9:07 AM PT10:07 AM MT11:07 AM CT12:07 PM ET12:07 ET16:07 GMT0:07 9:07 AM MST11:07 AM EST11:37 AM VEN20:07 UAE11:07 AM CT-Gardner stayed hot in Tuesday's loss at Boston, finishing 3 for 4 with a pair of doubles and a run scored.
Analysis: Gardner is 8 for 17 with three runs scored over a four-game hitting streak. The veteran outfielder hasn't made an impact in the stolen base category of late, however, having only recorded one since the All-Star break.
Aug. 6 2:29 PM PT3:29 PM MT4:29 PM CT5:29 PM ET17:29 ET21:29 GMT5:29 2:29 PM MST4:29 PM EST4:59 PM VEN1:29 UAE (+1)4:29 PM CT-Gardner had a second straight multihit game and drew a walk in Saturday's loss to Cleveland.
Analysis: Gardner has a 1.103 OPS in his last seven games but hasn't been helping the Yankees on the basepaths. He was doubled off first base Saturday on a fly ball to medium right field, and he has no stolen bases in 18 straight games but remains second on the team with 13.
July 31 3:08 PM PT4:08 PM MT5:08 PM CT6:08 PM ET18:08 ET22:08 GMT6:08 3:08 PM MST5:08 PM EST5:38 PM VEN2:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Gardner broke out of his recent slump by going 2 for 4 in Sunday's 5-3 loss to the Rays.
Analysis: Gardner had been batting .233 with just two extra-base hits over his previous 12 games.
July 30 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Gardner hit a two-run homer Saturday for the Yankees.
Analysis: He's hit safely in 12 of 14 games but is batting only .275 during that stretch.
July 22 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Gardner extended his hitting streak to seven games Friday.
Analysis: He's batting .346 with a homer, triple, two RBIs and four runs scored in that span.
July 17 9:28 AM PT10:28 AM MT11:28 AM CT12:28 PM ET12:28 ET16:28 GMT0:28 9:28 AM MST11:28 AM EST11:58 AM VEN20:28 UAE11:28 AM CT-Gardner went 2 for 3 with a homer run in Saturday's 5-2 loss to the red-hot Red Sox.
Analysis: Gardner is batting .324 with seven RBIs over his last eight games, though he was hitless in his previous two.
July 9 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Gardner went 2 for 5 with three RBIs on Saturday.
Analysis: He is 9 for 23 in his last five contests.
July 6 10:52 AM PT11:52 AM MT12:52 PM CT1:52 PM ET13:52 ET17:52 GMT1:52 10:52 AM MST12:52 PM EST1:22 PM VEN21:52 UAE12:52 PM CT-Gardner went 4 for 6 with two runs scored Tuesday.
Analysis: Gardner had been in a 3-for-22 slump. The Yankees' No. 2 hitter had a dismal .189 OBP in his previous eight games before Tuesday's outburst.
June 28 8:39 AM PT9:39 AM MT10:39 AM CT11:39 AM ET11:39 ET15:39 GMT23:39 8:39 AM MST10:39 AM EST11:09 AM VEN19:39 UAE10:39 AM CT-Gardner went 2 for 5 on Monday.
Analysis: Gardner is batting .358 with 19 runs scored in his last 21 games.
June 25 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Gardner had three hits Saturday for the Yankees.
Analysis: Gardner is batting .375 in his last 19 games.
June 9 9:51 AM PT10:51 AM MT11:51 AM CT12:51 PM ET12:51 ET16:51 GMT0:51 9:51 AM MST11:51 AM EST12:21 PM VEN20:51 UAE11:51 AM CT-Gardner had a big day with three hits - including a double - in Wednesday's 12-6 win over the Angels.
Analysis: Gardner has gone 12 for 23 with seven runs scored and two steals over his last six games.
June 7 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Gardner had a hit in his fifth straight game Tuesday.
Analysis: Over that five-game stretch, Gardner is 9 for 18.
May 10 11:52 AM PT12:52 PM MT1:52 PM CT2:52 PM ET14:52 ET18:52 GMT2:52 11:52 AM MST1:52 PM EST2:22 PM VEN22:52 UAE1:52 PM CT-Gardner homered for a second straight game in Monday's win over Kansas City.
Analysis: Like most of his Yankee teammates, Gardner hasn't been doing much at the plate of late. He's 5 for 25 with two stolen bases over his past eight games.
Apr. 24 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Gardner went 3 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs on Saturday.
Analysis: It was his second home run of the season.
Apr. 20 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Gardner has been scratched from the New York Yankees' lineup against Oakland with a stiff neck. He was replaced in left field Wednesday night by switch-hitter Aaron Hicks, who batted ninth.
Analysis: Gardner was listed in the original lineup. But during batting practice, a little more than 2 hours before game time, the Yankees announced he had been removed. He may have aggravated a lingering neck issue when he dove for Danny Valencia's sixth-inning triple Tuesday night.
Feb. 25 10:06 AM PT11:06 AM MT12:06 PM CT1:06 PM ET13:06 ET18:06 GMT2:06 11:06 AM MST1:06 PM EST1:36 PM VEN22:06 UAE12:06 PM CT-Gardner batted nine times Sunday in his first simulated game since bruising his left wrist in last year's AL wild-card loss to Houston.
Analysis: He could play in Wednesday's game against Toronto. Gardner hit .259 with 16 homers, 66 RBIs and 20 steals in 151 games last year.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 NYY 42 127 18 29 5 2 0 16 8 30 13 1 .228 .283 .299
2009 NYY 108 248 48 67 6 6 3 23 26 40 26 5 .270 .345 .379
2010 NYY 150 477 97 132 20 7 5 47 79 101 47 9 .277 .383 .379
2011 NYY 159 510 87 132 19 8 7 36 60 93 49 13 .259 .345 .369
2012 NYY 16 31 7 10 2 0 0 3 5 7 2 2 .323 .417 .387
2013 NYY 145 539 81 147 33 10 8 52 52 127 24 8 .273 .344 .416
2014 NYY 148 555 87 142 25 8 17 58 56 134 21 5 .256 .327 .422
2015 NYY 151 571 94 148 26 3 16 66 68 135 20 5 .259 .343 .399
2016 NYY 148 547 80 143 22 6 7 41 70 106 16 4 .261 .351 .362
Career 1067 3605 599 950 158 50 63 342 424 773 218 52 .264 .346 .388

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 NYY Total 14 13 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 1 2 .154 .154 .154
    LCS 6 3 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 .667 .667 .667
    WS 5 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 NYY Total 9 27 2 5 0 0 0 2 3 8 2 0 .185 .258 .185
    LDS 3 10 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 3 1 0 .200 .250 .200
    LCS 6 17 1 3 0 0 0 1 2 5 1 0 .176 .263 .176
2011 NYY Total 5 17 3 7 1 0 0 5 1 4 0 0 .412 .444 .471
    LDS 5 17 3 7 1 0 0 5 1 4 0 0 .412 .444 .471
2012 NYY Total 5 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 3 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 NYY Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 34 69 8 14 1 0 0 7 4 20 5 2 .203 .243 .217


w11 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.