YES Network.com

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#16
Yunel Escobar
AVG HR RBI
.258 7 39
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 215 NFBC ADP: 491.54
Position: SSBorn: 11/2/1982 Birthplace: Havana, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Braves (2005)


Latest News
Jan. 15 2:36 PM PT3:36 PM MT4:36 PM CT5:36 PM ET17:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Nationals general manager Mike Rizzo plans to head into next season with newly acquired Yunel Escobar at second base and possible free-agent-to-be Ian Desmond at shortstop.
Analysis: Escobar, who hit only .258 for Tampa Bay last season, has been a shortstop most of his career. He started 20 games at second base for Atlanta in 2007.
Jan. 14 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-The Nationals have acquired infielder Yunel Escobar from the Athletics for All-Star reliever Tyler Clippard. The teams announced the deal Wednesday.
Analysis: The A's picked up Escobar from Tampa Bay, along with Ben Zobrist, in a trade Saturday that sent catcher John Jaso and two minor leaguers to the Rays. Escobar hit .258 with seven homers and 39 RBIs for Tampa Bay last season. He has played eight years in the majors, including with Atlanta and Toronto, mostly at shortstop.
Jan. 10 11:55 AM PT12:55 PM MT1:55 PM CT2:55 PM ET14:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE1:55 PM CT-The busy Oakland Athletics have acquired infielders Ben Zobrist and Yunel Escobar from the Tampa Bay Rays for catcher John Jaso and two minor leaguers.
Analysis: Escobar batted .258. The 32-year-old shortstop had seven homers and 39 RBIs.
Sep. 12 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Escobar hit two home runs in Thursday's loss to the New York Yankees.
Analysis: Escobar is 8 for 17 with six RBIs over his last five games.
July 27 11:23 AM PT12:23 PM MT1:23 PM CT2:23 PM ET14:23 ET18:23 GMT2:23 11:23 AM MST1:23 PM EST1:53 PM VEN22:23 UAE1:23 PM CT-Escobar was 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Escobar is 12 for 37 in his last 10 games.
July 1 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-The Tampa Bay Rays have activated Escobar from the disabled list and placed reliever Jake McGee on the paternity list.
Analysis: Escobar missed 15 games due to right shoulder soreness.
May 17 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE2:37 PM CT-Escobar had three hits - including his third home run - in Friday's 3-0 road win over the Los Angeles Angels.
Analysis: Escobar had gone 7 for 30 (.233) with one extra-base hit and three RBIs over his previous 10 games.
May 3 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)3:42 PM CT-Escobar had three hits Friday.
Analysis: Escobar faces a major challenge Saturday against Yanks stud Masahiro Tanaka.
Apr. 27 12:14 PM PT1:14 PM MT2:14 PM CT3:14 PM ET15:14 ET19:14 GMT3:14 12:14 PM MST2:14 PM EST2:44 PM VEN23:14 UAE2:14 PM CT-Escobar was 2 for 4 on Saturday.
Analysis: Escobar has a .604 OPS so he is not a fantasy option.
Apr. 5 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Escobar and the Tampa Bay Rays have agreed to a two-year contract extension covering 2015 and 2016 worth a guaranteed $13 million. The deal announced Saturday also includes a club option for 2017. The extension replaces a 2015 club option.
Analysis: The 31-year Escobar played in a career-high 153 games and made 149 starts last season for the Rays. After establishing club records with a .989 fielding percentage and 53 consecutive errorless games at shortstop, he was a finalist for the American League Gold Glove Award.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Atl 94 319 54 104 25 0 5 28 27 44 5 3 .326 .385 .451
2008 Atl 136 514 71 148 24 2 10 60 59 62 2 5 .288 .366 .401
2009 Atl 141 528 89 158 26 2 14 76 57 62 5 4 .299 .377 .436
2010 Atl 75 261 28 62 12 0 0 19 37 31 5 1 .238 .334 .284
2010 Tor 60 236 32 65 7 0 4 16 19 26 1 1 .275 .340 .356
2010 Tot 135 497 60 127 19 0 4 35 56 57 6 2 .256 .337 .318
2011 Tor 133 513 77 149 24 3 11 48 61 70 3 3 .290 .369 .413
2012 Tor 145 558 58 141 22 1 9 51 35 70 5 1 .253 .300 .344
2013 TB 153 508 61 130 27 1 9 56 57 73 4 4 .256 .332 .366
2014 TB 137 476 33 123 18 0 7 39 43 60 1 1 .258 .324 .340
Career 1074 3913 503 1080 185 9 69 393 395 498 31 23 .276 .347 .381

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 TB Total 5 19 3 8 2 0 0 2 0 1 0 0 .421 .421 .526
    LDS 4 15 3 7 2 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .467 .467 .600
    WC 1 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .250 .250 .250
Career 5 19 3 8 2 0 0 2 0 1 0 0 .421 .421 .526


w12 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.