MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Francisco Liriano
ERA W-L K
3.28 9-6 164
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 215 NFBC ADP: 210.28
Position: SPBorn: 10/26/1983 Birthplace: San Cristobal, DR
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Giants (2000)


Latest News
Aug. 24 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Liriano earned his fifth consecutive win Sunday night with a 5-2 victory against San Francisco.
Analysis: Liriano (9-6, 3.23 ERA) gave up two unearned runs in 5 1-3 innings.
July 18 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Liriano was scratched minutes before the start of Saturday night's game against the Milwaukee Brewers due to neck tightness.
Analysis: There was no immediate word on the severity of Liriano's injury. Liriano (5-6) had made all 18 of his previously scheduled starts this year. Vance Worley (3-4) was tabbed as his replacement, which set off two lineup changes for the Brewers, who wanted to take advantage of the right-hander.
July 3 8:53 AM PT9:53 AM MT10:53 AM CT11:53 AM ET11:53 ET15:53 GMT23:53 8:53 AM MST10:53 AM EST11:23 AM VEN19:53 UAE10:53 AM CT-Liriano shut down Detroit for seven innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates finished a three-game sweep with an 8-4 win Thursday.
Analysis: Since pitching eight shutout innings in a 2-0 win over Detroit for Minnesota on April 27, 2010, Liriano had faced the Tigers 14 times - 11 as a starter - and gone 1-9. "I just had to go out there and forget everything that has happened with the Tigers," he said.
June 16 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Liriano won for the third time in five starts Monday, matching a season-high with 12 strikeouts while limiting the White Sox to two hits over eight innings in an 11-0 victory.
Analysis: Liriano is enjoying another strong year for the Pirates, improving to 4-5 with a 2.94 ERA.
June 10 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Liriano recorded his fourth straight quality start Tuesday versus Milwaukee, but took his fifth loss of the season.
Analysis: Liriano, who gave up three runs over eight innings in a 4-1 defeat, is 3-5 with a 3.25 ERA in 12 games.
June 4 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Liriano won for the second time in three starts Wednesday at San Francisco, limiting the Giants to one run over seven innings.
Analysis: Liriano appears to have righted himself, stringing together three straight quality starts after posting an 8.80 ERA in his previous three outings.
May 30 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Liriano pitched six scoreless innings and fanned 11 on Friday night but was denied a win when San Diego rallied for a 6-2 victory.
Analysis: Liriano (2-4, 3.47 ERA) has allowed one run in 12 innings in his last two starts while striking out 23 batters.
May 25 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Liriano allowed a run and six hits in six innings while striking out 12 in Sunday's 9-1 win over the Mets.
Analysis: Liriano snapped his three-start losing streak, and the strikeout total was a season high as he became the third straight Pittsburgh starter to fan at least 10 batters. Dating to 1914, no team has had four straight starters accomplish the feat.
May 3 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Liriano limited the Cardinals to a run and three hits in eight innings of Saturday's 2-1 11-inning loss.
Analysis: The left-hander lowered his opponent batting average to .130, but his run-support average of 2.51 is denying him victories.
Apr. 27 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Liriano allowed two hits in 6 1-3 innings of Sunday's 8-0 victory over Arizona.
Analysis: Liriano struck out seven and has 30 Ks in 24 1-3 innings. The problem is he also walked six and is back to his old self with 4.44 walks per nine innings.
Apr. 7 10:38 AM PT11:38 AM MT12:38 PM CT1:38 PM ET13:38 ET17:38 GMT1:38 10:38 AM MST12:38 PM EST1:08 PM VEN21:38 UAE12:38 PM CT-Liriano allowed two runs, two hits and struck out seven in seven innings Monday.
Analysis: Liriano is a solid option to provide fantasy depth.
Mar. 17 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Liriano is set to start on opening day for the Pittsburgh Pirates. Manager Clint Hurdle made the announcement Tuesday. The Pirates begin the regular season on April 6 at Cincinnati.
Analysis: Liriano will be the first Pirates pitcher to start on opening day in consecutive seasons since Oliver Perez in 2005-06.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Min 1 2 0 - 0 6 4 0 23.2 19 15 15 4 7 0 33 1.10 5.70
2006 Min 12 3 1 - 1 28 16 0 121.0 89 31 29 9 32 0 144 1.00 2.16
2008 Min 6 4 0 - 0 14 14 0 76.0 74 40 33 7 32 1 67 1.39 3.91
2009 Min 5 13 0 - 0 29 24 0 136.2 147 93 88 21 65 0 122 1.55 5.80
2010 Min 14 10 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.2 184 77 77 9 58 0 201 1.26 3.62
2011 Min 9 10 0 - 0 26 24 1 134.1 125 81 76 14 75 1 112 1.49 5.09
2012 Min 3 10 0 - 0 22 17 0 100.0 89 63 59 12 55 4 109 1.44 5.31
2012 CWS 3 2 0 - 0 12 11 0 56.2 54 34 34 7 32 1 58 1.52 5.40
2012 Tot 6 12 0 - 0 34 28 0 156.2 143 97 93 19 87 5 167 1.47 5.34
2013 Pit 16 8 0 - 0 26 26 2 161.0 134 54 54 9 63 0 163 1.22 3.02
2014 Pit 7 10 0 - 0 29 29 0 162.1 130 68 61 13 81 3 175 1.30 3.38
2015 Pit 9 6 0 - 0 25 25 0 153.2 122 60 56 13 57 0 164 1.16 3.28
Career 85 78 1 - 1 248 221 3 1317.0 1167 616 582 118 557 10 1348 1.31 3.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Min 28 5 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 3 0 0 .200 .333 .200
2009 Min 29 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Min 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Min 26 2 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 .500 .667 .500
2012 Min 22 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Tot 34 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 26 47 0 3 0 0 0 1 4 18 0 0 .064 .137 .064
2014 Pit 29 45 1 5 0 0 0 0 2 14 0 0 .111 .149 .111
2015 Pit 25 52 2 6 1 0 1 7 0 24 0 0 .115 .115 .192
Career 248 161 3 16 1 0 1 10 8 65 0 0 .099 .142 .124

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Min Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 2 1 1 1 0 1 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 2 1 1 1 0 1 4.50
2010 Min Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 6 4 4 0 3 0 7 6.35
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 6 4 4 0 3 0 7 6.35
2013 Pit Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 7 3 3 0 3 0 10 2.08
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 1 1 0 1 0 5 1.29
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 3 2 2 0 2 0 5 3.00
Career 1 0 0 - 0 4 3 0 20.2 14 9 8 1 7 0 18 3.48

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .500 .667 .500
    WC 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    LDS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
Career 4 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .500 .667 .500


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1138 97 88 92.4 46.95
Slider 803 91 78 84.8 33.13
Changeup 483 88 80 84.4 19.93

w11 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.