MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#51
Ichiro Suzuki
AVG HR RBI
.303 0 13
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 5-11 / 174 NFBC ADP: 693.98
Position: RFBorn: 10/22/1973 Birthplace: Kasugai, Japan
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
Aug. 18 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Suzuki went 2 for 4 on Thursday but struck out two more times.
Analysis: He's 4 for 11 over his last three games but has struck out seven times in his past five contests.
Aug. 10 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Suzuki had two hits Wednesday in his first start since registering his 3,000th hit Sunday.
Analysis: He's batting .335 in 37 starts this season.
Aug. 7 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET20:50 ET0:50 GMT8:50 5:50 PM MST7:50 PM EST8:20 PM VEN4:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Suzuki tripled off the wall for his 3,000th career hit in the major leagues Sunday, becoming the 30th player to reach the milestone.
Analysis: The 42-year-old Marlins outfielder did it in the seventh inning against Colorado at Coors Field. He joined Paul Molitor as the only players whose 3,000th hit was a triple. Miami players came out of the dugout to congratulate Suzuki, and he waved his helmet to acknowledge the cheers. Suzuki is in his 16th season in the majors. He got 1,278 hits while playing nine years in Japan before becoming the American League Rookie of the Year and MVP with Seattle in 2001.
Aug. 7 7:10 AM PT8:10 AM MT9:10 AM CT10:10 AM ET10:10 ET14:10 GMT22:10 7:10 AM MST9:10 AM EST9:40 AM VEN18:10 UAE9:10 AM CT-Suzuki got his 2,999th career hit in the major leagues Saturday night, then missed a chance to add a milestone hit.
Analysis: Suzuki beat out an infield single as a pinch-hitter in the eighth inning for the Miami Marlins against Colorado. He stayed in the game and batted again in the ninth, but grounded out to pitcher Scott Oberg. Suzuki ended an 0-for-11 slump with his hit. The 42-year-old Japanese outfielder is in his 16th season in the majors and trying to become the 30th player to reach 3,000.
Aug. 3 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Suzuki lined out softly to shortstop as a pinch-hitter Wednesday. He remained at 2,998 career hits, two shy of becoming the 30th player to reach the 3,000-hit milestone.
Analysis: Suzuki is hitless in 10 at-bats over his last six games.
Aug. 1 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Suzuki lined into a double play as a pinch-hitter in Monday's loss to the Cubs and remained at 2,998 career hits.
Analysis: Suzuki is mired in a 2-for-18 slump as he chases history and has no RBIs in his last 22 games, spanning 36 at-bats.
Aug. 1 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Suzuki popped out as a pinch hitter in the seventh inning in Sunday's loss to St. Louis and remained at 2,998 career hits. Suzuki went 2 for 17 on the Marlins' homestand while starting just twice.
Analysis: "He's swinging at some balls out of the strike zone, which is a little bit not like him," manager Don Mattingly said. Mattingly declined to say whether Suzuki will start Monday at Wrigley Field. He is batting .308 in 26 career at-bats against Jason Hammel, the Cubs' scheduled starter for Tuesday.
July 28 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-On Thursday, Suzuki doubled as a pinch hitter in the seventh for Miami and needs two hits for 3,000.
Analysis: Though Suzuki is 4 for 18 in his last 10 games, he's likely to reach 3,000 before the weekend has ended.
July 26 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Suzuki made his first start in five games Tuesday and went 1 for 5, giving him 2,997 career hits. He also stole a base and scored a run.
Analysis: Marlins manager Don Mattingly said Suzuki got the start primarily because center fielder Marcell Ozuna has been slumping. Suzuki has hit safely in each of his last six starts but has made only four in July. He doesn't have a hit in any of his last eight pinch-hit appearances.
July 21 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Suzuki went 2 for 5 on Thursday to move within four hits of 3,000.
Analysis: If he's in the lineup Friday, Suzuki will face Logan Verrett of the Mets. Suzuki has a double in four career at-bats against the right-hander.
July 18 9:59 AM PT10:59 AM MT11:59 AM CT12:59 PM ET12:59 ET16:59 GMT0:59 9:59 AM MST11:59 AM EST12:29 PM VEN20:59 UAE11:59 AM CT-Suzuki doubled, singled twice and had another hit taken away on a replay challenge, leaving him six shy of 3,000 in the Marlins' 6-3 victory over the Cardinals on Sunday.
Analysis: Suzuki made just his second start this month with All-Star Marcell Ozuna getting a day off. He's been largely reduced to pinch hitting behind a set outfield, and singled in that role on Friday. He'll be back to a bench role on Monday in Philadelphia.
July 16 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Suzuki had a pinch-single for his 2,991st career hit and scored to tie it in the eighth inning as the Marlins beat the St. Louis Cardinals 7-6 on Friday night for their fourth straight victory.
Analysis: The hit was the first since July 4 for the 42-year-old Suzuki. He's had just seven pinch-hit appearances and one start this month with the Marlins, who have a steady outfield rotation of Christian Yelich, Marcell Ozuna and Giancarlo Stanton.
June 29 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Suzuki had two more hits in Wednesday's 10-3 loss to the Tigers.
Analysis: Suzuki has had back-to-back two-hit games, increasing his major league total to 2,987 and raising his average to .342. On Thursday, the Marlins begin a four-game set with the Braves, and Suzuki is batting .208 in 15 career games at Turner Field - his lowest average in any of the 30 ballparks he has played in at least seven times.
June 21 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Suzuki had two hits Tuesday to give him 2,982 in his career.
Analysis: Suzuki is three hits away from tying Sam Rice for 30th all-time.
June 15 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Suzuki went 2 for 5 in the Marlins' 6-3 loss to the Padres on Wednesday, giving him 4,257 career hits in the Japanese and North American major leagues to surpass Pete Rose's record total in Major League Baseball.
Analysis: Suzuki now has 2,979 MLB hits, putting him on pace to become the 30th person to reach 3,000.
June 14 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Suzuki had three hits Monday to give him 2,977 in the majors and 4,255 including his career in Japan, one shy of Pete Rose's big-league record total.
Analysis: Suzuki, who also drew two walks and scored three runs Monday, is batting .432 since May 31.
June 9 9:47 AM PT10:47 AM MT11:47 AM CT12:47 PM ET12:47 ET16:47 GMT0:47 9:47 AM MST11:47 AM EST12:17 PM VEN20:47 UAE11:47 AM CT-Suzuki had two hits, moving with 27 of 3,000 for his major league career, and drove in a run in the Marlins' win over the Twins.
Analysis: The 43-year-old is five hits away from Pete Rose's career record when counting his 1,278 professional hits in Japan. Suzuki is 12 for 28 in the last six games he's started.
June 8 9:13 PM PT10:13 PM MT11:13 PM CT12:13 AM ET0:13 ET4:13 GMT12:13 9:13 PM MST11:13 PM EST11:43 PM VEN8:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Suzuki had two hits Tuesday.
Analysis: He has three hits in his last two games. In the last four games Suzuki has recorded a hit, three have been multi-hit contests.
May 24 10:09 AM PT11:09 AM MT12:09 PM CT1:09 PM ET13:09 ET17:09 GMT1:09 10:09 AM MST12:09 PM EST12:39 PM VEN21:09 UAE12:09 PM CT-Ichiro boosted his chances of reaching 3,000 hits in Monday's 7-6 win over Tampa Bay while filling in admirably once again for ailing teammate Christian Yelich.
Analysis: Ichiro went 4 for 5 and drove in a run, reaching 2,960 hits. He is one shy of matching Sam Crawford for 31st all-time. Ichiro is 10 for 13 in his last three games and has lifted his average to .417.
May 22 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET12:38 ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST11:38 AM EST12:08 PM VEN20:38 UAE11:38 AM CT-The ageless Suzuki went 4 for 4 with a run scored in Saturday's win over Washington.
Analysis: The 42-year-old is now hitting .373 in spot duty this season, though he could be in line for some added playing time with Christian Yelich currently dealing with back spasms.
Apr. 29 5:45 PM PT6:45 PM MT7:45 PM CT8:45 PM ET20:45 ET0:45 GMT8:45 5:45 PM MST7:45 PM EST8:15 PM VEN4:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Suzuki had a milestone hit and his 500th career stolen base in a 6-3 win over Milwaukee on Friday night.
Analysis: Ichiro hit a 1-0 fastball from Zach Davies into right field for a single, his 2,944th major league hit, moving him into 33rd place all-time ahead of Frank Robinson. He is the 38th MLB player with 500 steals. Ichiro had 1,278 hits and 199 stolen bases in the Japanese Baseball League from 1992-2000.
Apr. 18 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Suzuki went 2 for 2 with a walk, RBI and run scored on Sunday.
Analysis: He also stole a base.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Mia 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 2.00 9.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 2.00 9.00

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2001 Sea 157 692 127 242 34 8 8 69 30 53 56 14 .350 .381 .457
2002 Sea 157 647 111 208 27 8 8 51 68 62 31 15 .321 .388 .425
2003 Sea 159 679 111 212 29 8 13 62 36 69 34 8 .312 .352 .436
2004 Sea 161 704 101 262 24 5 8 60 49 63 36 11 .372 .414 .455
2005 Sea 162 679 111 206 21 12 15 68 48 66 33 8 .303 .350 .436
2006 Sea 161 695 110 224 20 9 9 49 49 71 45 2 .322 .370 .416
2007 Sea 161 678 111 238 22 7 6 68 49 77 37 8 .351 .396 .431
2008 Sea 162 686 103 213 20 7 6 42 51 65 43 4 .310 .361 .386
2009 Sea 146 639 88 225 31 4 11 46 32 71 26 9 .352 .386 .465
2010 Sea 162 680 74 214 30 3 6 43 45 86 42 9 .315 .359 .394
2011 Sea 161 677 80 184 22 3 5 47 39 69 40 7 .272 .310 .335
2012 Sea 95 402 49 105 15 5 4 28 17 40 15 2 .261 .288 .353
2012 NYY 67 227 28 73 13 1 5 27 5 21 14 5 .322 .340 .454
2012 Tot 162 629 77 178 28 6 9 55 22 61 29 7 .283 .307 .390
2013 NYY 150 520 57 136 15 3 7 35 26 63 20 4 .262 .297 .342
2014 NYY 143 359 42 102 13 2 1 22 21 68 15 3 .284 .324 .340
2015 Mia 153 398 45 91 5 6 1 21 31 51 11 5 .229 .282 .279
2016 Mia 109 241 33 73 12 3 0 13 26 30 9 2 .303 .374 .378
Career 2466 9603 1381 3008 353 94 113 751 622 1025 507 116 .313 .357 .405

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2001 Sea Total 10 38 7 16 2 0 0 3 5 4 3 2 .421 .488 .474
    LDS 5 20 4 12 1 0 0 2 1 0 1 2 .600 .619 .650
    LCS 5 18 3 4 1 0 0 1 4 4 2 0 .222 .364 .278
2012 NYY Total 9 40 3 11 2 0 1 5 2 5 1 1 .275 .310 .400
    LDS 5 23 2 5 2 0 0 3 1 3 1 1 .217 .250 .304
    LCS 4 17 1 6 0 0 1 2 1 2 0 0 .353 .389 .529
Career 19 78 10 27 4 0 1 8 7 9 4 3 .346 .400 .436


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.