YES Network.com

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Bartolo Colon
ERA W-L K
4.09 15-13 151
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 5-11 / 283 NFBC ADP: 295.52
Position: SPBorn: 5/24/1973 Birthplace: Altamira, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (1993)


Latest News
Sep. 29 8:24 AM PT9:24 AM MT10:24 AM CT11:24 AM ET11:24 ET15:24 GMT23:24 8:24 AM MST10:24 AM EST10:54 AM VEN19:24 UAE10:24 AM CT-Colon beat Houston 8-3 in Sunday's season finale.
Analysis: Colon finished the year 15-13 with a solid 4.09 ERA. He reached 200 innings for the first time since 2005.
Sep. 17 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Colon bounced back from his shortest outing of the year for a 9-1 win over Miami on Tuesaday night.
Analysis: Colon (14-12) allowed one run and a season-high 12 hits in 7 2-3 innings. The only extra-base hit was a double to Reed Johnson, who had three hits. He struck out seven without a walk. Colon went three innings in a 6-2 loss to Washington on Sept. 11.
Sep. 11 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET20:47 ET0:47 GMT8:47 5:47 PM MST7:47 PM EST8:17 PM VEN4:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Colon was ejected after hitting Jayson Werth with a pitch right after Anthony Rendon's home run gave Washington a 6-0 lead in the fourth inning Thursday night.
Analysis: Colon is one of the best control pitchers in the majors. He hit two batters in one game for the fifth time in his big career and first time since 2009. He was replaced by Daisuke Matsuzaka.
Aug. 18 8:55 AM PT9:55 AM MT10:55 AM CT11:55 AM ET11:55 ET15:55 GMT23:55 8:55 AM MST10:55 AM EST11:25 AM VEN19:55 UAE10:55 AM CT-Colon earned the win in an 11-3 victory over the Los Angeles Dodgers on Sunday in his first start since the death of his mother.
Analysis: Colon (12-10, 3.82 ERA) gave up two runs and five hits over six innings and struck out five in his first start since his mother Adriana passed away on Monday from breast cancer. After the game, the 41-year-old right-hander returned to the Dominican Republic to attend her funeral.
Aug. 9 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Colon allowed one run and six hits over eight innings in Friday's 5-4 win at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Colon won his 200th career game and improved to 3-1 with a 3.25 ERA over his last four starts.
Aug. 4 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Colon endured a nightmarish performance in Sunday's 9-0 loss to San Francisco, giving up six runs and eight hits in a season worst-matching 4 2-3 innings.
Analysis: Though he was coming off back-to-back victories, Colon owns a 5.12 ERA over his last seven starts. He might be too unpredictable to be relied on for the rest of the fantasy season.
July 29 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Colon allowed one run over 7 2-3 innings to beat Philadelphia 7-1 on Monday.
Analysis: Colon allowed 10 hits but managed to limit the damage. This may have been his final start in a Mets uniform with the trade deadline fast approaching.
July 24 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Colon came within seven outs of a perfect game Wednesday, instead getting the win in a 3-2 victory versus Seattle as he limited the Mariners to two runs and three hits over 7 1-3 innings.
Analysis: No one likely saw the gem coming, given that he had posted a 5.88 ERA over his previous four starts.
July 19 10:42 AM PT11:42 AM MT12:42 PM CT1:42 PM ET13:42 ET17:42 GMT1:42 10:42 AM MST12:42 PM EST1:12 PM VEN21:42 UAE12:42 PM CT-Colon did not get a decision Friday.
Analysis: Colon was derailed by a sour stomach and a headache. He allowed four runs and struck out six in five innings.
June 30 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Colon's win streak ended Sunday.
Analysis: Colon was finished after six innings, and he yielded five runs on seven hits and a walk. "I just think that because I've already gone against them once they probably prepared so they knew what I was coming with," Colon said.
June 25 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Colon extended his win streak to six with a 10-1 rout of his former team, Oakland, on Tuesday.
Analysis: Colon (8-5, 3.67 ERA) gave up one run and four hits over eight innings for the second straight start. He has a 1.58 ERA during his win streak, which has spanned seven outings.
May 18 12:34 PM PT1:34 PM MT2:34 PM CT3:34 PM ET15:34 ET19:34 GMT3:34 12:34 PM MST2:34 PM EST3:04 PM VEN23:34 UAE2:34 PM CT-Colon has allowed two runs and five hits over eight innings in a 5-2 win at Washington on Saturday.
Analysis: Colon has been 0-2 with an 8.31 ERA in his previous three May starts.
May 7 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Colon took his fifth loss of the season Tuesday at Miami despite a decent showing.
Analysis: Colon gave up three runs and seven hits over seven innings. Though he's 2-5 with a 5.36 ERA, he's thrown at least seven innings in four of his seven starts.
May 2 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Colon was rocked on Thursday.
Analysis: Colon allowed seven runs on 10 hits in 4 2-3 innings, his shortest outing of the season. He walked one and struck out three. His next start is against Miami.
Apr. 25 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Colon improved to 2-3 on Thursday with a stellar showing against St. Louis.
Analysis: Colon struck out a season-high eight in seven innings while limiting the Cardinals to a run and four hits. He also didn't issue a single walk for the third time in five starts this season.
Apr. 14 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Mike Trout, Albert Pujols and Raul Ibanez hit consecutive home runs off Bartolo Colon in the first inning, setting the tone for the Los Angeles Angels' 14-2 rout of the New York Mets on Sunday in the decisive game of their interleague series.
Analysis: Colon (1-2, 6.00 ERA) gave up nine runs and 11 hits in five innings, allowing at least one hit to every batter in the Angels' starting lineup after pitching seven innings of six-hit ball last Tuesday during a 4-0 victory in Atlanta. The 40-year-old right-hander signed a two-year, $20 million contract with the Mets in December as a free agent after going 18-6 with a career-best 2.65 ERA in 30 starts for Oakland.
Apr. 9 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Colon improved to 1-1 Tuesday, throwing seven shutout innings while surrendering six hits in a win at Atlanta.
Analysis: Somehow the ageless Colon may again prove to be an asset in fantasy circles.
Mar. 15 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Colon, who signed a two-year, $20 million deal in the offseason, started strong then struggled. He gave up seven hits, four runs (all earned), had one walk and no strikeouts in four-plus innings. Anthony Rizzo hit two solo homers off Colon.
Analysis: Colon, 40, is in his first year with the Mets after a stellar 18-win season with the Oakland A's last year. Earlier this spring, the hard-throwing right-hander was sidelined by a minor calf injury so beware.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
1997 Cle 4 7 0 - 0 19 17 1 94.0 107 66 59 12 45 1 66 1.62 5.65
1998 Cle 14 9 0 - 0 31 31 6 204.0 205 91 84 15 79 5 158 1.39 3.71
1999 Cle 18 5 0 - 0 32 32 1 205.0 185 97 90 24 76 5 161 1.27 3.95
2000 Cle 15 8 0 - 0 30 30 2 188.0 163 86 81 21 98 4 212 1.39 3.88
2001 Cle 14 12 0 - 0 34 34 1 222.1 220 106 101 26 90 2 201 1.39 4.09
2002 Cle 10 4 0 - 0 16 16 4 116.1 104 37 33 11 31 1 75 1.16 2.55
2002 Mon 10 4 0 - 0 17 17 4 117.0 115 48 43 9 39 4 74 1.32 3.31
2002 Tot 20 8 0 - 0 33 33 8 233.1 219 85 76 20 70 5 149 1.24 2.93
2003 CWS 15 13 0 - 0 34 34 9 242.0 223 107 104 30 67 3 173 1.20 3.87
2004 Ana 18 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 208.1 215 122 116 38 71 1 158 1.37 5.01
2005 LAA 21 8 0 - 0 33 33 2 222.2 215 93 86 26 43 0 157 1.16 3.48
2006 LAA 1 5 0 - 0 10 10 1 56.1 71 39 32 11 11 0 31 1.46 5.11
2007 LAA 6 8 0 - 0 19 18 0 99.1 132 74 70 15 29 1 76 1.62 6.34
2008 Bos 4 2 0 - 0 7 7 0 39.0 44 23 17 5 10 0 27 1.38 3.92
2009 CWS 3 6 0 - 0 12 12 0 62.1 69 42 29 13 21 3 38 1.44 4.19
2011 NYY 8 10 0 - 0 29 26 1 164.1 172 85 73 21 40 3 135 1.29 4.00
2012 Oak 10 9 0 - 0 24 24 0 152.1 161 62 58 17 23 3 91 1.21 3.43
2013 Oak 18 6 0 - 0 30 30 3 190.1 193 60 56 14 29 0 117 1.17 2.65
2014 NYM 15 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 202.1 218 97 92 22 30 3 151 1.23 4.09
Career 204 141 0 - 0 442 436 35 2786.0 2812 1335 1224 330 832 39 2101 1.31 3.95

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
1997 Cle 19 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
1998 Cle 31 2 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
1999 Cle 32 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2000 Cle 30 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2001 Cle 34 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2002 Cle 16 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2002 Mon 17 39 1 5 0 0 0 3 0 20 0 0 .128 .146 .128
2002 Tot 33 45 1 6 0 0 0 3 0 23 0 0 .133 .149 .133
2003 CWS 34 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2004 Ana 34 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2005 LAA 33 3 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2006 LAA 10 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2007 LAA 19 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Bos 7 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 NYY 29 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Oak 24 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Oak 30 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 NYM 31 62 3 2 1 0 0 0 0 33 0 0 .032 .032 .048
Career 442 158 4 12 1 0 0 5 0 89 0 0 .076 .081 .082

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
1998 Cle Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 14.2 9 2 2 1 7 1 6 1.23
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 1 1 1 3 1 3 1.59
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 4 1 1 0 4 0 3 1.00
1999 Cle Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 11 9 9 3 4 0 12 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 11 9 9 3 4 0 12 9.00
2001 Cle Total 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 12 3 3 0 6 0 13 1.84
    LDS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.2 12 3 3 0 6 0 13 1.84
2004 Ana Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 3 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 3 4.50
2005 LAA Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 10 4 4 0 2 0 7 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 10 4 4 0 2 0 7 4.50
2013 Oak Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 10 3 3 0 0 0 4 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 10 3 3 0 0 0 4 4.50
Career 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 1 58.1 59 24 24 5 22 1 45 3.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 2475 94 81 88.7 82.53
Slider 358 87 78 82.2 11.94
Changeup 166 84 79 81.4 5.54

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.