MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
4.08 9-12 155
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Bellevue, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 14 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Friday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Saturday. Boyd struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 9-12, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 11-7 on Sunday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 8-12, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST2:01 PM CST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 8-11, allowing six hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 7-11, allowing four runs on four hits in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-4 on Friday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST2:10 PM CST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 7-10, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Sunday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-10, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Angels 6-2 on Monday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 31 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 6-9, allowing four hits and one walk over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cincinnati Reds 2-1 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 25 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 5-9, allowing two runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-4 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 20 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-9, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Boston Red Sox 1-0 on Friday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 4.62 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 10 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-8, allowing five runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-7, allowing seven runs - six earned - on seven hits in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 7-5 on Thursday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 30 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST1:51 PM CST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Saturday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 24 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST2:10 PM CST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-6, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 12-2 on Sunday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-5, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 13 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-2 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 4-4, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
June 2 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed four runs on six hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4 on Saturday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 3.23 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 28 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST2:30 PM CST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-4, allowing two hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-3 on Monday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Boyd (oblique) will make his next scheduled start Monday against the Angels.
Analysis: Boyd's availability had been in question after he exited Tuesday's start against Minnesota after four-plus innings, but it turns out he was just dealing with some mild spasms. The left-hander is 2-4 with a 3.29 ERA and a 1.08 WHIP for the season.
May 18 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Seattle Mariners 3-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.19 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 12 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 2-3, allowing three runs on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Saturday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
May 6 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST2:34 PM CST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Sunday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 1 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 1-2, allowing one run on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-3 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 1.40 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST6:59 PM CST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-1 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 1.38 ERA and 0.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST1:31 PM CST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-1, allowing one run on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 1-0 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out one, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
2018 Det 9 12 0 - 0 29 29 0 165.1 132 76 75 22 49 0 155 1.09 4.08
Career 22 34 0 - 0 88 84 1 455.0 457 261 251 74 151 3 390 1.34 4.96

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2018 Det 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 88 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1318 95 84 90.3 48.37
Curveball 345 76 67 72.1 12.66
Slider 847 85 76 80.6 31.08
Changeup 215 83 75 78.3 7.89

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.