YES Network.com

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Alfredo Simon
ERA W-L K
3.35 12-8 94
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-6 / 267 NFBC ADP: 675.35
Position: SPBorn: 5/8/1981 Birthplace: Santiago, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Phillies (1999)


Latest News
Aug. 5 10:02 AM PT11:02 AM MT12:02 PM CT1:02 PM ET13:02 ET17:02 GMT1:02 10:02 AM MST12:02 PM EST12:32 PM VEN21:02 UAE12:02 PM CT-Simon lost for the fourth straight start Monday, giving up a season high-matching five runs over five innings in a 7-1 loss at Cleveland.
Analysis: Simon is stuck in an abysmal four-game losing streak, surrendering 12 earned runs in 21 1-3 innings.
July 31 3:07 PM PT4:07 PM MT5:07 PM CT6:07 PM ET18:07 ET22:07 GMT6:07 3:07 PM MST5:07 PM EST5:37 PM VEN2:07 UAE (+1)5:07 PM CT-Simon lost a third straight start Wednesday for the first time in his career despite limiting Arizona to two runs in seven innings.
Analysis: Simon hasn't been completely awful in his three straight losses, giving up seven earned runs in 16 1-3 innings, but the Reds have backed him with two runs of support in that span.
July 20 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Simon suffered a rare defeat Saturday.
Analysis: Simon fell to 12-4 this year and 0-3 in seven games, including four starts, against the Yankees. The right-hander allowed four runs - two earned - and five hits in five innings, the first time he failed to finish six innings since going 3 2-3 in a 6-3 loss at Dodger Stadium on May 27. He went 6-0 with a 2.47 ERA in his next eight starts.
July 13 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET14:35 ET18:35 GMT2:35 11:35 AM MST1:35 PM EST2:05 PM VEN22:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-The Cincinnati Reds said on Sunday that Simon has been added to the National League team for Tuesday's All-Star game. This is Simon's first All-Star game.
Analysis: Simon (12-3), who was the first NL pitcher to reach 12 wins is tied with St. Louis' Adam Wainwright for the league lead. Simon joins fellow Reds right-hander Johnny Cueto, left-hander Aroldis Chapman, third baseman Todd Frazier and catcher Devin Mesoraco on the NL team.
July 5 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Simon prolonged his undefeated run to seven starts, yielding two runs over 7 1-3 innings of a 4-2 win over Milwaukee on Friday.
Analysis: Simon is 5-0 with a 2.63 ERA during that undefeated stretch.
June 29 11:27 AM PT12:27 PM MT1:27 PM CT2:27 PM ET14:27 ET18:27 GMT2:27 11:27 AM MST1:27 PM EST1:57 PM VEN22:27 UAE1:27 PM CT-Simon had another strong outing Saturday but couldn't pick up an NL-best 11th win in a 7-3 victory against San Francisco.
Analysis: Simon (10-3, 2.81 ERA) allowed one run over seven innings for the second straight game but received zero runs of support. He got one run to work with in a 6-1 win over the Chicago Cubs on June 23. Simon has a 1.91 ERA in his last four starts.
May 22 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Simon continued his surprising start Wednesday, allowing one run and five hits with six strikeouts over seven innings in a 2-1 win at Washington.
Analysis: Simon is 6-2 with a 2.31 ERA in his nine starts for the Reds.
May 17 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Simon threw 7 2-3 innings of scoreless ball while striking out eight in Friday's win over Philadelphia.
Analysis: Simon recovered nicely after his worst outing of the season on May 10. He's allowed five hits or fewer in seven of his eight starts.
May 11 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Simon was crushed as the Reds were routed by the Rockies 11-2 on Saturday night.
Analysis: Simon was tagged for a season-high eight hits and five runs in three innings. Simon was not available after the game, but manager Bryan Price said control was his starter's problem. "He made some mistakes up in the zone," Price said. The starter's next outing is against the anemic Padres.
Apr. 30 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Simon improved to 4-1 on Tuesday with a strong showing against the Cubs.
Analysis: Simon owns a 1.60 ERA after yielding two runs and five hits over six innings versus Chicago.
Apr. 25 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-The Cincinnati Reds are not talking about the lawsuit filed by a woman who says she was sexually assaulted by Simon. When asked on Friday how he is proceeding with Simon, Reds manager Bryan Price said "we'll probably just keep all that stuff to ourselves." Price said the matter is "our family business."
Analysis: The woman, identified as Jane Doe, filed the $15 million civil lawsuit Thursday in D.C. Superior Court. She claims Simon sexually assaulted her in a Washington hotel a year ago when the Reds were in town to play the Nationals. Simon (3-1) is not scheduled to pitch in the Reds' three-game weekend series against the Atlanta Braves.
Apr. 24 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Simon allowed two runs in 6 2-3 innings, earning the win in Wednesday's 5-2 victory at Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Simon has been terrific thus far, going 3-1 with a 1.30 ERA. He'll try to stay hot against the lowly Cubs next week.
Apr. 19 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Simon improved to 2-1 on Friday after limiting the Cubs to one unearned run and four hits over six innings.
Analysis: The right-hander looks like one of the biggest surprises in baseball thus far with a 0.86 ERA through three starts. He's thrown at least six innings each time out.
Apr. 13 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE2:32 PM CT-Simon was a tough-luck loser in a 1-0 defeat to Tampa Bay on Saturday.
Analysis: Simons (1-1, 1.20 ERA) matched a career high with eight innings and allowed only five hits. One of those hits, though, was James Loney's second-inning home run. Simon also walked one and struck out four.
Apr. 7 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)5:16 PM CT-Simon pitched seven impressive innings in his first start in more than two years and began the go-ahead rally with his second career hit, helping the Cincinnati Reds beat the New York Mets 2-1 Sunday and salvage a win in the three-game series.
Analysis: Simon (1-0) made 99 relief appearances for the Reds since his previous start, on Sept. 28, 2011, for Baltimore, but manager Bryan Price tapped the right-hander because Mat Latos is rehabbing from knee and elbow operations. Price said Simon is one of the most durable guys on the staff and had no problem letting him go deep into the game. Still, he lifted Simon after he allowed just four hits and threw 79 pitches.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 4 1 0 13.0 16 10 9 4 2 0 8 1.38 6.23
2009 Bal 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.1 8 7 7 5 2 0 3 1.58 9.95
2010 Bal 4 2 17 - 21 49 0 0 49.1 54 30 27 10 22 2 37 1.54 4.93
2011 Bal 4 9 0 - 0 23 16 0 115.2 128 69 63 15 40 6 83 1.45 4.90
2012 Cin 3 2 1 - 1 36 0 0 61.0 65 22 18 2 22 1 52 1.43 2.66
2013 Cin 6 4 1 - 3 63 0 0 87.2 68 31 28 8 26 2 63 1.07 2.87
2014 Cin 12 8 0 - 0 25 25 0 153.1 142 62 57 19 42 5 94 1.20 3.35
Career 29 26 19 - 25 202 44 0 486.1 481 231 209 63 156 16 340 1.31 3.87

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Cin 36 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Cin 63 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2014 Cin 25 46 2 5 1 0 0 1 1 16 0 0 .109 .128 .130
Career 202 57 2 6 1 0 0 1 1 22 0 0 .105 .121 .123

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
2013 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 3 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1349 97 89 93.9 58.15
Curveball 282 83 69 76.8 12.16
Split-Finger 338 90 57 84.2 14.57
Cut Fastball 351 92 83 88.1 15.13

w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.